FEMA - National Flood Insurance Program

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). East Bay Charter Township has been a NFIP participating community since the mid-1980’s. To date, East Bay Charter Township is designated as a Non-Special Flood Hazard Area which means the area is a moderate-to-low risk flood zone and had yet to be mapped. However, some structures within the area could still be at risk and the township’s participation in the NFIP allows property owners to purchase flood insurance if they anticipate a risk of flooding. Only renters, homeowners, and business owners that have property in a “participating community” are eligible to purchase flood insurance. FEMA has updated the maps in our area as part of the Map Modernization Initiative. To enable East Bay Charter Township to continue participation, Ordinance 2018-1 and Resolution 2018-05 were passed on May 14, 2018. These documents are required by FEMA and coordinate the administration and enforcement with the Township, Grand Traverse County Construction Code Division, and FEMA. Please visit eastbaytwp.org to view the new maps and fema.gov/national-flood-insurance-program.

Map Index
Map 0114C 
Map 0125C
Map 0231C
Map 0250C
Map 0275C
Floodplain Management in Michigan Quick Guide