Staff Directory

East Bay Charter Township staff looks forward to assisting you via email, phone, or in person. If a staff member is unavailable, please leave a message and your call will be returned as soon as possible. While walk-ins are welcome, to ensure the correct staff member is available to address your needs, an appointment is helpful. For an organizational overview, click here for the Organizational Chart.

Beth Friend, Supervisor
Phone number: (231) 947-8719
Email: bfriend@eastbaytwp.org

Susanne M. Courtade, Clerk
Phone number: (231) 947-3503
Email: scourtade@eastbaytwp.org

Helen MacArthur, Deputy Clerk
Phone number: (231) 947-8647
Email: hmacarthur@eastbaytwp.org  

Tracey Bartlett, Treasurer
Phone number: (231) 947-8647
Email: tbartlett@eastbaytwp.org 

Deb Hamilton, Deputy Treasurer
Phone number: (231) 947-8647
Email: dhamilton@eastbaytwp.org  

Valerie Hendges, Receptionist
Phone number: (231) 947-8647
Email: vhendges@eastbaytwp.org

Bob Burns, Building & Grounds Keeper
Phone number: (231) 590-5645 
Email: rburns@eastbaytwp.org

Claire Karner, AICP, Director of Planning & Zoning
Phone number: (231) 947-868,1 ext. 2
Email: ckarner@eastbaytwp.org

Leslie Couturier, Zoning Administrator
Phone number: (231) 947-8681, ext. 3
Email: lcouturier@eastbaytwp.org

Jake Myers, Planning & Zoning Intern
Phone number: (231) 947-8681, ext. 4
Email: jmyers@eastbaytwp.org

Susan Karakos, Assessing
Phone number: (231) 947-8647
Email: skarakos@grandtraverse.org

Joel Bremer, Assessing
Phone number: (231) 947-8647
Email: jbremer@grandtraverse.org